Dadu is a town in Sindh and capital of Dadu District. According Census-2017, city’s population is 171,191. The town is located on the Western bank of River Indus and is subdivided in three Union councils.  
District Dadu was created in 1931 by merging Kotri and Mahal Kohistan (later Jamshoro) tehsils from Karachi District and Mehar, Khairpur Nathan Shah, Dadu, Johi and Sehwan tehsils from Larkana District. In 2004, several talukas in the south were split off to create new district i.e Jamshoro. District’s border is linked with Jamshoro, Naushahro Feroze, Shaheed Benazirabad and Kamber Shahdadkot disctricts.  Presently, District Dadu is subdivided in 4x talukas i.e Dadu, Johi, Khairpur Nathan Shah and Mehar and covers 8034 Sq Km area. As per census 2017, population of district is 1550266.
The district is rich in natural resources. Precious stones and reservoirs of gas and petroleum have been explored in Taluka Johi. Other than that, Dadu Sugar Mill is a large scale industry in this district.
The district is irrigated by Sukkur Barrage. There are two main canals in the district Rice canal and Dadu canal. Besides, land is also irrigated by tube wells and spill over of River Indus.

Post a Comment