Naushahro Feroze District

Naushahro Feroze city

The name “Naushahro Feroze” was given to this city. There are many references for this. According to Mir Ali Sher Qaniu who is the author of an old history book “Tuhfat-tul-Kiram” Fakir Feroze laid the foundation of a new city “Naushahro Feroze” by uniting the nine villages of locality. Thus it was “a city of nine cities”.
Naushahro Feroze is a very important historical city of Sahati Region of Central Sindh.  In 15-11-1989 it was given the status of District headquarter. Before this it was a sun-district of Naushahro, which was setup during the British Raj in 1912. When British Government established District Nawabshah, it was based on the areas of Naushahro Feroze, Kandiaro, Moro, and Sakrand. On establishment of district in 1989, it was made part of Sukkur Division however, on establishment of Shaheed Benazirabad Division in 2011, District was linked with newly established division.
District’s capital is Naushahro Feroze city. The district is administratively subdivided into five talukas (Moro, Naushahro Feroze, Bhiria, Kandiaro & Mehrabpur) and 51 union councils. Population of district is 1,612,373 having 2.19% of total population living in urban areas as per census 2017. 98% of the total population is Muslim while 1.3% are Hindus. Major language of the district is Sindhi having 88% of total population followed by 5.7% Urdu 4.4% Punjabi. The district covers 3027 Sq Km bordering with Khairpur District in the north-east, Dadu District to the west. Indus River makes a natural boundary between the two districts, Larkana District in the north-west, and its south-east border is surrounded by District Shaheed Benzirabad.
District Naushahro Feroze has two members in National Assembly referred to as NA-211 and NA-212. NA-211 includes Bhiria, Kandiaro and Mehrabpur talukas, whereas NA-212 represents Moro and Naushahro Feroze Talukas. There are 4x constituencies (PS-33, PS-34, PS-35 & PS-36) of provincial assembly in the district.
Rivers Indus flows in the west of this district. It is mostly based on the agricultural lands. All type of cash and food crops are cultivated in the district which include, wheat, maize, barely, cereals, cotton, rice etc.  As far as the main fruits of district are concerned these include bananas, mangoes, guava, oranges, berries, lemons, etc. The agriculture lands of Naushahro Feroze are giving many cash and food crops. Wheat, cotton, and sugarcane grown.
Irrigation waters of district are more planned now-a-days as compared to few decades ago. But due to porous mud banks of canals, water table under the ground has risen to the dangerous level and thus salts and minerals under the ground has come over the earth thus giving a way to the eruption of salinity problem. This problem is destroying the fertility of our agricultural lands and as a result our agricultural yield is decreasing.
Main Railway track between Karachi and Peshawar also runs through this district. Important railway stations of this district are Padidan, Mehrabpur, and Bhiria Road. Before 1983 Pakistan railway feeder line was also running between Padidan and Naushahro Feroze. It was further going to Tharushah, Kandiaro and Mehrabpur on the one side and to Moro, Qazi Ahmed, Sakrand. Halla and Tandoadam on the other side.
Naushahro Feroze has a hot climate with extremely hot summers and mild winters. There is little rain, mainly falls in monsoon season (July to September).

Post a Comment